## **Durness Community Council**

## <u>AGM</u>

# **Minutes**

Durness Village Hall, Durness, Sutherland, IV27 4QA

### Tuesday 2<sup>nd</sup> July 2024 at 7pm

**1. Present** Don Campbell (DC) - Chair

Ron Tucker (RT) – Secretary

Kristina Coulton (KC) - Treasurer

Anita Wilson (AW)

Barbara Sutherland (BS)

Ewen MacRae (EM)

Cllr Hugh Morrison (HM) - Ex-officio

**Non-Council Members** 

Maj. Philip Curtis

2. Apologies Scott Macpherson, Fiona Saywell, Steve Woodruff

3. Minutes of the last AGM (5<sup>th</sup> June 2023)

Proposed by BS and seconded by AW. Agreed and passed as correct.

#### 4. Chairman's Report

- DC expressed thanks to all the Council members for their work in the last year. Don especially thanked Sarah Fuller for all her work as treasurer and secretary.
- He stated that there are ongoing problems with the Smoo Cave car park and the adjacent road which are still in the hands of the Highland Council to resolve.
- NC500 is still very active and that the rubbish collection from the public bins is going well.
- Windfarm money has now started to come through with the first amount of £5,000 to the Community Council and a further £40,000 available across the three communities. To date there are two applications from Durness which have been approved, including £6,000 for the new buildings in the games area. There are three more applications in the pipeline.
- The Cemetery gates have been renewed.
- Three defibrillators are now in place.
- The Christmas dinner went ahead successfully.
- We also had a fresh Community Council election.

#### 5. Treasurer's Report

KC produced a statement of accounts for the previous year which had been independently examined and certified as accurate. This was accepted by the Council.

#### 6. Election of Officers

Councillor Hugh Morrison took the chair for this item.

He thanked all the Committee for their work throughout the year.

Election of **Chair**: DC was proposed by RT and seconded by BS; DC agreed to stand, and he was elected unanimously.

Election of **Vice-Chair:** SM was proposed by BS and seconded by AW; SM had previously agreed to stand, and he was elected unanimously.

Election of **Secretary:** RT was proposed by DC and seconded by BS; RT agreed to stand, and he was elected unanimously.

Election of **Treasurer**: KC was proposed by RT and seconded by BS; KC agreed to stand, and she was elected unanimously.

HM then handed back the chair to DC.

#### 7. A.O.B.

None.

### 8. Date of next meeting

7pm Monday 23<sup>rd</sup> June 2025

These Minutes were agreed at the meeting on.....

